Saban Films Acquires Star-Studded Tribeca Selection “THE STAND-IN” Starring Drew Barrymore

Saban Films announced today that they have acquired North American rights to Emmy® Award nominee Jamie Babbit’s (The QuietBut I’m a CheerleaderThe Stand-In.  In a dual lead role, Golden Globe® Award winner Drew Barrymore (E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial, Grey Gardens, “Santa Clarita Diet”) tops this star-studded cast featuring Michael Zegen (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”), Emmy® Award nominee Ellie Kemper (Bridesmaids, “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt”), T.J. Miller (Deadpool, “Silicon Valley”), and Emmy® Award winner Holland Taylor (“Two and a Half Men,” Legally Blonde). An official selection of The Tribeca Film Festival, the comedy was written by Sam Bain (Four LionsMagicians) and produced by The Exchange’s Caddy Vanasirikul and Brian O’Shea, Flower Films’ Ember Truesdell and Chris Miller, and Tom McNulty.

The Stand-In is the story of a disaffected comedy actress busted for tax evasion and her adoring, ambitious stand-in who she hires to do community service in her place. A co-dependent relationship ensues as the actress begins to use the stand-in in all parts of her life to escape from the stressful demands of fame. Eventually, the stand-in starts to take the actress’s identity, career and boyfriend, and finally kicks her out of her own house.

“Drew Barrymore’s acting prowess is on full display and will keep audiences laughing as she seamlessly transforms between her two characters,” commented Saban Films’ Bill Bromiley.  “We are thrilled to continue to spotlight indie film, and after seeing it via the Tribeca Film Festival, bring it to our audiences during these tough times.”

Bill Bromiley and Jonathan Saba negotiated the deal for Saban Films along with CAA Media Finance, UTA Independent Film Group and The Exchange on behalf of the filmmakers. Saban Films is executive producing alongside Flower Films’ Drew Barrymore, Nancy Juvonen; Ingenious Media’s Christelle Conan, Anders Erden, Simon Williams, The Exchange’s Nat McCormick, Giovanna Trischitta; Wrigley Media Group’s Misdee Wrigley-Miller, Jayne Hancock, Ross Babbit, Danny Tepper; J3’s John Jencks and Joe Simpson, Jay Taylor, and Sam Bain.